” Nobody in football…

” Nobody in football should be called a genius. A genius is a guy like Norman Einstein.”
– Joe Theismann

Oh, I was so pissed off today. Majorly annoyed at the commotion outside my house. Football, it has occurred to me, is not a quite event at all.

Normally, I would expect the fans to keep it to the field, and make sure by the time they’re out of the match, they’ve vented all their frustration from watching some guys kick a ball a grassy field. However, today (Heaven forbid there be anther Bristol Rovers event) the pub opposite my house was overwhelmed by the amount of rowdy fans who were chanting and singing. FML.

Not only was my IQ significantly lowered – and no, Anderson was not nearby. But I was oddly reminded of my own childhood. I spent my time, as a 5 (approx.) year old, in school, playing, singing and clapping to many of the tunes the crowd of grown men were attempting to rally their spirits with today. Except, I was 5, and in an all girls’ school. Well done. You’ve done ‘your’ sport proud.

Not to mention the amount of police involved. Thank you for surrounding the pub and making sure they know you’re there. But please either kick their asses or Taser them all for crying out loud. People might just get the idea that you’re incompetent if you don’t act while a riot is essentially taking place at an establishment where men are likely to get intoxicated.

Ironically. This was all before the match. I pray for those who have to endure the aftermath. And myself. Let’s not forget to pity me. -_-

This quote… at first glance, is reasonably acceptable. Until you realise, there is no such genius as ‘Norman Einstein’. Nor is the person I’m quoting a ‘genius’ either. No, I think his statement is quite valid. After all, he is a former American quarterback and a professional sports caster. Let’s not forget that their football is not our football. Britain takes precedence because it was INVENTED BY US!  No wonder your all football fans are slightly gifted in the ‘hooligans and gasheads’ department. Fact: The former descriptive and colourful words were used by two of my friends today describing them.

I respect your sport because it has a long history. However, this whole thing cements the idea that only those who are either not talented enough to find other interests or were lacking in the physiological area likes football.

~ Persephone 

P.S. I hope you’re all happy. 

Almost First Day

So, today was my first day (mostly paperwork) of school without you, P. There are over 200 pupils in my year, and the whole building is stiflingly hot all the time.  Boys are not that scary, trust me, they are just normal people- ok, maybe except this one boy who has 13 GCSEs.

The teachers are all very helpful, talkative and nice, which is a change from the often quite scary staff at your school! I’ll find out more about clubs and teams tomorrow, but there seem to be lots of opportunities, so hopefully I’ll join some groups and make new friends *terrified face*.

I’ve also got a train pass, in which I look like an extra from the cast of the Walking Dead, so that’ll be lovely to wake up to every morning.

This was a vaguely pointless post, just wanted to let you know that everything went fine, and I’m finding out more about my one true love of Russian tomorrow.  Last but not least, I miss you so much, this is way too hard without the respite of our little lunch club, I think I might have to re-think my NYU plans so we can live together for uni….

~Lady Rainicorn